Skip to content

Potty Training

December 10, 2009

BabyBjorn Little Potty Ocean Blue

Today is Sander’s second day of potty training. I’m not expecting miracles, that he’ll actually sit on there with out screaming like he’s being tortured is miracle enough. He’s doing it with a smile on his face too – a cheeky grin to be more precise. I think the fact that I almost had a meltdown with excitement when he pooped on the toilet for the first time yesterday, made him eager to please. Or at least amused him sufficiently for him to want to do it again.

Sander is two years and two months, and over the last few months, I’ve tried him just sitting on the potty or the toilet – neither way went well. I decided it would be better to wait until he was ready, rather than push him to bend to my will. Besides two year olds don’t stand for much pushing.

Instead I would tell him when I or his Dad went to the toilet (and what I was doing). And show him too, pointing out that the toilet was where Mummy and Daddy go for a wee wee.

And so yesterday he runs to get his nappy bag just as he was starting to do a poop, his aunt says to him,    ‘you’re a big boy now, why don’t you go on the toilet?’

I sighed, expecting another – ‘NOOOOOOOOOOO mum!’  So I knelt down and asked him if he wanted to go poo poo on the toilet, as expected he started to say no…  And then suddenly he changed his mind and nodded resolutely – the rest is history.

… Well, at least it’s a good start anyway!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

